Skip to content

Academic Calendar

College Calendar

Harper College follows a semester calendar that includes 16-week fall and spring semesters (Final Exams are given during Week 17) and 8-week summer sessions. Not all classes follow a 16-week calendar; 4-week, 6-week, 8-week and 12-week options are a few of the choices that may be available during the fall, spring and summer sessions. Credit classes are generally scheduled Monday through Friday from 7 a.m. until 10 p.m., Saturday from 8 a.m. until 6 p.m. and no Sunday classes during the spring and fall semesters. The College is closed Saturdays and Sundays during the summer session.

2019-20
First Semester - Fall 2019 (August 19 to December 13, 2019)

  • Full-time Faculty Report: Tuesday, August 13
  • Semester Begins*: Monday, August 19
  • Labor Day (College Closed): Monday, September 2
  • Thanksgiving Holiday (College Closed): Wednesday-Sunday, November 27 - December 1
  • Final Exam Week**: Monday-Friday, December 9 - 13

**Most classes will have final exams administered this week; however, 8-week sections and other short-term/early-start classes are not included.

Second Semester - Spring 2020 (January 13 to May 15, 2020)

  • Full-time Faculty Report: Wednesday, January 8
  • Semester Begins*: Monday, January 13
  • Martin Luther King Day (College Closed): Monday, January 20
  • Lincoln's Day Observed (College Closed): Wednesday, February 12
  • Spring Break (classes not in session): Monday-Sunday, March 23 - March 29
  • Classes Resume: Monday, March 30
  • Reading Day (College Closed): Friday, April 10
  • Final Exam Week**: Monday-Friday, May 11 - 15
  • Graduation: Saturday, May 16

**Most classes will have final exams administered this week; however, 8-week sections and other short-term/early-start classes are not included

Summer Session - Summer 2020 (May 18 to August 7, 2020)

  • Session Begins*: Monday, May 18
  • Memorial Day (College Closed): Monday, May 25
  • Independence Day (College Closed): Friday, July 3

2020-21

First Semester – Fall 2020 (August 24 to December 18, 2020)

  • Full-time Faculty Report: Tuesday, August 18
  • Semester Begins*: Monday, August 24
  • Labor Day (College Closed): Monday, September 7
  • Thanksgiving Holiday (College Closed):  Wednesday-Sunday, November 25 – November 29
  • Final Exam Week**: Monday-Friday, December 14 – 18

** Most classes will have final exams administered this week; however, 8-week sections and other short-term/early-start classes are not included.

Second Semester – Spring 2021 (January 19 to May 21, 2021)

  • Full-time Faculty Report: Wednesday, January 13
  • Martin Luther King Day (College Closed): Monday, January 18
  • Semester Begins*: Tuesday, January 19
  • Lincoln’s Birthday Observed (College Closed): Friday, February 12
  • Spring Break (classes not in session): Monday-Sunday, March 22 – March 28
  • Classes Resume: Monday, March 29
  • Reading Day (College Closed): Friday, April 2
  • Final Exam Week**: Monday-Friday, May 17 – 21
  • Graduation: Saturday, May 22

** Most classes will have final exams administered this week; however, 8-week sections and other short-term/early-start classes are not included.

Summer Session– Summer 2021 (May 24 to August 6, 2021)

  • Semester Begins*: Monday, May 24
  • Memorial Day (College Closed): Monday, May 31
  • Independence Day Observed (College Closed): Monday, July 5

College Office Hours

Typical office hours are Monday through Thursday from 8 a.m. to 7 p.m., Friday from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. For specific office hours, please check www.harpercollege.edu

Last Updated: 11/6/19