# Spring 2024

Student Awards



WHCM Radio 88.3FM Advisor: Brian Shelton

> 2024 Festival of Media Arts Awards hosted by the Broadcast Education Association

- Student and WHCM General Manager Matt Byrne, Harper Radio show host, for his audio submission "The Night Shift Promo"
- Student <u>Ricardo "Richy"</u>
  <u>Garcia</u>, Harper Radio show host, for his audio submission "NoirVember" Richy's entry earned him Best of Festival!
- Student <u>Cheryl Winkelmann</u> for her video entry "Short Film Insanity"









#### Harper Speech & Debate 2024 Phi Rho Pi Tournament



#### **Team Awards**

- Combined Speech & Debate Gold National Champions
- Speech Events Silver
- Debate Events (Parliamentary and Public Debate) Silver

Advisors: Margaret Bilos, Isaiah Carrington, Bill Lucio, & Jeff Przybylo.

#### Hawk Speech & Debate 2024 Phi Rho Pi Tournament

#### 2024 Overall Team National Champions

#### **Open IPDA (Public Debate)**

- Seth Margolis (Gold)
- Isabella Abarca (Silver)
- Kaleb Koch (Silver)

#### **Open Extemporaneous**

- Kaleb Koch (Gold)
- Seth Margolis (Bronze)
- Olimpio Messer (Bronze)

#### **Open Impromptu**

- Kaleb Koch (Gold)
- Isabella Abarca (Bronze)
- Olimpio Messer (Bronze)
- Seth Margolis (Bronze)

#### **Open Persuasive**

• Isabella Abarca (Bronze)

#### **Open DUO – 10 min Acting Scene**

• Masha Dudinova & Sam Gallo (Silver)

#### **Open Parli**

• Kaleb Koch & Seth Margolis (Silver)

Advisors: Margaret Bilos, Isaiah Carrington, Bill Lucio, & Jeff Przybylo.



# Phi Theta Kappa and Honors Society

#### Advisors: John Garcia, Magdalen Mckinley and Alicia Tomasian



# Distinguished Chapter Member from Phi Theta Kappa

## National Phi Theta Kappa Convention

## Mariia Dudinova



Advisors: John Garcia, Magdalen McKinley, Alicia Tomasian



# Honors Society

#### Advisors: John Garcia, Magdalen McKinley, Alicia Tomasian



**Olivia Maliszewski** – 3<sup>rd</sup> place at the Honors Council of the Illinois Region Student Symposium for her paper on the artistry of objects in *Beowulf*.

**Lorina Rushiti** – Honorable Mention at the Honors Council of the Illinois Region Student Symposium for her paper on Ophelia's agency in *Hamlet*.

# 2023-2024 Women's Outdoor Track & Field National Champions



### **NJCAA All-American**



### **Student-Athlete Graduates**

- Lilly Alberts
- Araxi Boghossian
- Kaili Decker
- Danielle Giovenco
- Brianna Ruiz
- Eden Suh
- Svetlozara Uvakova
- Chloe Wintergerst
- Lily Wintergerst

- Timothy Bryant
- Kamil Drozd
- Matthew Greenholt
- Marcos Jaimes
- James Marompon
- Albert Szewczyk
- Matt Trybus

# Excellence in Athletics Program









