Police Department Personnel

Law Enforcement Authority of Security Personnel

HCPD officers are appointed by the Harper College Board of Trustees as "conservators of the peace" within the intent of the Illinois Community College Act. Under Chapter 110, Illinois Compiled Statutes, Section 805/3-42.1, 

"Members of the security department shall be conservators of the peace and as such shall have all powers possessed by policemen in cities, and sheriffs in counties, including the power to make arrests on view or warrants of violations of state statutes and city or county ordinances of the counties in which the community college is located when such is required for the protection of community college properties and interests, and its students and personnel and within such counties when specifically requested by appropriate state or local law enforcement officials. Such officers have no power to serve and execute civil process." 

They cooperate with all law enforcement agencies and investigate crime reports from members of the College community. Reports not relating to Harper College are referred to the appropriate agency.

Harper College Police Department Mission, Values and Vision.

Department Administration

Chief Claude Casaletto Portrait

Claude Casaletto

Chief of Police

Chief Claude Casaletto completed his Associates Degree in Criminal Justice at Oakton Community College and earned both his Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees from National Louis University. Claude is also a graduate from Northwestern University’s School of Police Staff and Command and the FBI National Academy in Quantico Virginia class #230. Claude served with the Northfield Police Department from 1988 until his retirement in 2018. During his law enforcement career Claude served as patrol officer, Corporal, Sergeant and Deputy Police Chief. Other assignments that Claude has  participated in over his career have been; Perimeter team leader on the Northern Illinois Police Alarm System, Range Officer, Field Training Officer, Emergency Medical Technician, Rapid Deployment/Active shooter instructor, patrol carbine instructor, Use of Force instructor and Evidence Technician.

Deputy Chief of Police

Randy Walker




Sworn Personnel

Corporal Michael Healy

(847) 925-6000 Extension 7804


Corporal Thomas Koch

(847) 925-6000 Extension 7802


Corporal Richard Nowaczyk

(847) 925-6000 Extension 7803


Officer Atif Bukhari

(847) 925-6000 Extension 7811


Officer Myles Greenberg

(847) 925-6000 Extension 7810


Officer Melissa Harrah

(847) 925-6000 Extension 7807


Officer Kristopher Larson

(847) 925-6000 Extension 7815


Officer Stephan Liggio

(847) 925-6000 Extension 7809


Officer Randy Hegland

(847) 925-6000 Extension 7806


Officer Stu Schmidt

(847) 925-6000 Extension 7808


Officer Aggie Wajda

(847) 925-6000 Extension 7805