About Us

Harper Students

The Harper College Educational Foundation was established in 1973. Since its inception, the Foundation’s mission has been to support the educational service of William Rainey Harper College and, to this end, to receive, invest and steward contributions for the financial support and benefit of the College in accordance with the Foundation’s policy and donor specifications.

Through the years, the Foundation has matured into a not-for-profit organization that has instituted best practices for foundations affiliated with public community colleges. Its Board of Directors continues to monitor those practices and procedures in order to improve continually the operations of the Foundation. By forging strong relationships with community and corporate leaders, the Foundation has helped to create a nationally recognized community college and a strong foundation for the future.


The Harper College Educational Foundation strives to provide all Harper College students with opportunities to transform their lives and enrich the community through education without financial barriers.


The Harper College Educational Foundation connects the college to the greater community, alumni, businesses and leaders by inspiring and aligning donor passion and generosity through philanthropic support for students and program enrichment.

Strategic Plan

View a PDF version of the Harper College Educational Foundation's Strategic Plan here.

Board of Directors


Richard P. Hohol, President
Chartered Consultants, Inc.

William H. Kesler,  Past President
(Retired) Executive Vice President/Treasurer
HSBC Finance Corporation

Patty Moyer, Vice President Development
Vice President
Cedar Creek Investment LLC & Terra Cotta Corners LLC

Rafael Malpica, Vice President Board Membership
Director, Community and Guest Relations
Advocate Good Shepherd Hospital

Susan Rogers, Vice President Programs
Chief People Officer
School Health Corporation

Brenda Knox, Treasurer
Financial Elements, Inc.

Ella Liberman, Secretary
Assistant General Counsel - Regulatory
Markel Corporation

Jim Pfeiffer, Member at Large
Division Counsel
Northrop Grumman Corp

Dr. Avis Proctor, (Ex-Officio)
Harper College

Diane Hill, (Ex-Officio) Trustee Liaison
(Retired) Northwestern University
School of Communication

Laura J. Brown, (Ex-Officio)
Vice President, Harper College
Chief Advancement Officer, Harper College Educational Foundation


Dee Beaubien
(Retired) Mental Health Counselor and Consultant

Dr. Nancy M. Castle
(Retired) Director, Center for Non-Governmental Organizational Leadership and Development
Northern Illinois University

Mark W. Cleary
(Retired) Vice President of Supply Chain Management
Northrop Grumman Corporation Electronic Systems

Warner Cruz
J.C. Restoration

Polly Davenport
Senior Vice President/Chief Regional Officer
AMITA Health

Kathleen A. Gilmer
(Retired) Outreach Centers Director
Northern Illinois University

Randy L. Green
President and Chief Executive Officer
First Bank of Highland Park

James J. Hagelow
(Retired) Managing Director
Marsh USA, Division of Marsh & McLennan Companies

Don Houchins
Executive Director, Women's and Children's Services
Northwest Community Healthcare

Steve Jackson
Vice President
Power Construction Company, LLC

Dan Klaras
Assurance Agency, Ltd.

Georgeanna Mehr
Hoffman Estates Community Bank


James P. Meier
Principal/Project Manager,
MeritCorp Group, LLC

Monica Mueller
Senior Director, Inclusion, Diversity, and Outreach
Motorola Solutions

Sam Oliver
Non-Profit Consulting, Inc.

Eric Pan
Practice Group Strategy Leader - GGB
Arthur J. Gallagher

Scot Pepper
Pepper Construction Company

William D. Provan
American Commercial Bank & Trust

Jacob H. Sadoff

Drew J. Schaefer
Senior Vice President - Division Head
Cornerstone National Bank & Trust

Jeffrey F. Sronkoski
Principal and Chairman
Legat Architects

Marianne J. Stanke
Client Relations Executive

W. Bradley Stetson
Chairman & CEO
Barrington Bank & Trust

Dr. Robin S. Turpin
Director, Health Delivery Systems and Pharmacoeconomics
Takeda Pharmaceuticals U.S.A., Inc.

Thomas G. Wischhusen
Senior Vice President & Senior Managing Director
Northern Trust

Emeritus Directors

Martha A. Bell
Tilton, Kelly + Bell, L.L.C.

Jeffery J. Bowden
(Retired) Senior Vice President
Bank of America Merrill Lynch

Luz N. Canino-Baker
LNC Coaching LLC.

Rita Canning
Community Philanthropist

Clark Delanois
Senior Vice President
Northern Trust

Dr. Kenneth L. Ender
Immediate Past President
Harper College

Robert P. Fiorani
(Retired) Vice President Communication
Schneider Electric

Robert H. Glorch
(Retired) Attorney
Law Offices of Robert H. Glorch

Richard T. Guttman
(Retired) Vice President, Industry & Government
Affairs and Assistant General Counsel
Schneider Electric

Diane G. Hill
(Retired) Northwestern University
School of Communication

Dr. Robin M. Hoffer
(Retired) GCG Financial Inc.

Richard D. Hoffman
(Retired) President
Atomatic Mechanical Services, Inc.

Kris Howard Jensen
(Retired) Girl Scouts – Illinois Crossroads Council
(Retired) Harper College Board of Trustees

James R. Lancaster
(Deceased) Executive Vice President
First Chicago NBD

Joseph J. Legat
Legat Architects


Jack A. Lloyd
Market President
BMO Harris Bank

Thomas P. MacCarthy
Cornerstone National Bank & Trust Company

James A. Moehling
Attorney and Counselor

Lane Moyer
Vedder Price PC

Rita L. Mullins
(Retired) Mayor
Village of Palatine

Kenneth J. Nykiel
(Deceased) Partner
Clifton Gunderson LLP

Carol C. Pankros
(Retired) Founder and Financial Advisor
CCP, Inc.

Richard D. Schonhoff
(Retired) President
Northern Trust

Al Shapiro 
(Deceased) President
Active Glass Company Inc.

Gerald J. Smoller
Kovitz Shifrin Nesbit

Stephen J. Topolski
(Retired) Partner

Donald D. Torisky
Century Solutions, L.L.C.

Gregory G. Werner
Senior Vice President
Mortenson Construction

Mary Jo Willis
(Retired)Professor Emerita
Harper College Speech and Theatre Department

alert iconCoronavirus (COVID-19) Outbreak
Harper College has implemented safety measures that impact fall semester coursework, events and travel. Read More